HCL junior squash championship concludes

·         Ranjit Singh (Uttar Pradesh) won the U-19 category for Boys
·         Sanya Vats (Delhi) and Aryan Parekh (Maharashtra) won the U-17 category for Girls and Boys, respectively
·         Ananya Dabke (Maharashtra) and Deepak Mandal (Maharashtra) won the U-15 category for Girls and Boys, respectively
·         Yuvna Gupta (Maharashtra) and Yuvraj Wadhwani (Maharashtra) won the U-13 category for Girls and Boys, respectively
·         Anahat Singh (Delhi) and Rohan Arya Gondi (Telangana) won the U-11 category for Girls and Boys, respectively

28 December, 2016, Great Noida, India: HCL, a leading global conglomerate, today announced the successful completion of its first ever HCL Junior Squash Championship, which was one of the highest level tournaments in the country. The winners were felicitated by Mr. Rajiv Swarup, President, Shiv Nadar University and Col. Gopal Karunakaran, CEO, Shiv Nadar Schools with a total prize purse of Rs. 5,00,000/- across all categories. The championship which kick-started on 24th December was held at Shiv Nadar University, Greater Noida.

HCL Junior Squash Championship, which was one of the highest level tournaments in the country.

HCL Junior Squash Championship, which was one of the highest level tournaments in the country.

The top players will also receive ranking points and will be included in the National Junior ranking list in the relevant age group. The Championship which saw a participation from a total of 270 players was organised under the aegis of The Squash Racket Federation of India and the Uttar Pradesh Squash Rackets Association to promote the sport at a competitive level.

Sundar Mahalingam, Chief Strategy Officer, HCL Corporation and Shiv Nadar Foundation said, “I would like congratulate all the participants for the high quality matches played over the last five days. This was HCL’s first ever initiative to promote squash in the country and a part of HCL’s brand philosophy which aims at touching people’s lives. We will continue to build on this initiative in order to provide a serious platform to young upcoming players in the country.”

The Championship was played in a knock-out format followed by play-offs of the top 8 positions in all categories. The details of the winners and runners up are as follows:

Ranjit Singh (UP)
Aryan Parekh (MH)
Sanya Vats (DL)
Deepak Mandal (MH)
Ananya Dabke
Yuvraj Wadhwani (MH)
Yuvna Gupta (MH)
Rohan Arya Gondi (TL)
Anahat Singh (DL)
Yash Bhargava(DL)
Utkarsh Baheti
Jannia Singh (CH)
Diwakar Singh (UP)
Anannya Morey (MH)
Jeh Pandole (MH)
Kaavya Bansal (MH)
Vivaan Bhatia (MH)
Unnati Tripathi (UK)

About HCL
Founded in 1976 as one of India's original IT garage start-ups, HCL is a pioneer of modern computing with many firsts to its credit, including the introduction of the 8-bit microprocessor-based computer in 1978 well before its global peers. Today, the HCL enterprise has a presence across varied sectors that include technology, healthcare and talent management solutions and comprises four companies - HCL Infosystems, HCL Technologies, HCL Healthcare and HCL Talent Care. The enterprise generates annual revenues of over US $7 billion with more than 110,000 employees from 100 nationalities operating across 31 countries, including over 500 points of presence in India. For further information, visit www.hcl.com.