14th HCL International Bridge Championship Concludes Successfully

Team Lavazza emerged as the winner of the Naresh Tandan Trophy
Team Six-Pack was the winner of Mohini Tandan Trophy
A.K. Sinha and S.K. Hooda were the winners of Neena Bonarji Trophy
India’s largest Bridge Championship saw the participation of over 600 players from across the globe

Monday, October 24, 2016, New Delhi: HCL, a leading global conglomerate, today announced the successful completion of the 14th HCL International Bridge Championship. India’s largest bridge championship witnessed a congregation of over 600 players from India and across the world vying for the world’s second largest prize purse, totalling Rs. 1.2 crores (US$ 180,000). The Championship had begun on October 19 and concluded on October 23, with the participation from internationally renowned players such as Giorgio Duboin from Italy (World Ranked No. 4), Zia Mehmood from USA (World Ranked No. 7) and Norberto Bocchi from Italy (World Ranked No. 9). From India, leading players like Keyzad Anklesaria and Sunit Choksi, who won the Bronze Medal at the recently concluded World Bridge Games, Wroclaw, Poland, also participated at the HCL International Bridge Championship. 

14th HCL International Bridge Championship Concludes Successfully

The Championship consisted of the, “Team of Four Gold”, “Team of Four Silver” and “Open Pairs” events. The winners included: -

  • The Naresh Tandan Trophy for the winners of Team of Four Gold event with Rs. 20 Lakh prize money – won by Team Lavazza which included Zia Mehmood, Norberto Bocchi, Giorgio Duboin and Dennis Bilde 
  • The Mohini Tandan Trophy for the winners of Team of Four Silver with Rs. 8 Lakh prize moneywon by Team Six-Pack, which included Vijay Devadass, Nirmal Jain, Sandip Dang, Sanjay Sondhi, Subhranshu Patnaik and Afshar Majeed 
  • The Neena Bonarji Trophy for the ‘Open Pairs’ event with Rs. 6.5 Lakh prize money – won by A.K. Sinha and S.K. Hooda
In Delhi, the closing ceremony was hosted in the presence of Mrs. Kiran Nadar, Director, HCL Corporation, an internationally renowned Bridge player and Captain of Team Formidables. Noted Bollywood actress Ms. Sharmila Tagore. and Mr. Shiv Nadar, Founder and Chairman of HCL also attended the award ceremony. 
The Championship was held under the auspices of the Bridge Federation of India and comes on the heels of the Olympic Committee of Asia announcing the inclusion of Bridge in the 2018 Asian Games in Indonesia.

Winners and Runner-up details appended below:

Winner (Team Details and Prize money)
1st Runner up (Team Details and Prize money)
Team of Four Gold
Team Lavazza: Zia Mahmood of USA, Norberto Bochhi & Giorgio Duboin of Italy and Dennis Bilde of Denamark
Prize money- 20 Lacs
Russian Team: Andrey Gromov (Captain), Aleksandr Dubinin, Georgy Matushko, Evgeny  Rudakov, Oleg Kazantsev, Yury Khokhlov
Prize Money: 10 Lacs
Team of Four Silver
Team Six-Pack: Vijay Devadass, Nirmal Jain, Sandip Dang, Sanjay Sondhi, Subhranshu Patnaik and Afshar Majeed
Prize money- 8 Lacs
P.K. Thakur’s VI: Pramod Ranjan Das,    M Dey, G Banerjee, J Sarkar, D Paul, B N Ghosh and P K Thakur (Captain)
Prize Money: 5 Lacs
Open Pairs
AK Sinha and SK Hooda
Prize money- Rs. 6.5 Lacs
Jerry Stamatov - Diyan Danailov from Bulgaria
Prize money- Rs. 5.50 Lacs

Notes to the Editor:

About HCL
Founded in 1976 as one of India's original IT garage start-ups, HCL is a pioneer of modern computing with many firsts to its credit, including the introduction of the 8-bit microprocessor-based computer in 1978 well before its global peers. Today, the HCL enterprise has a presence across varied sectors that include technology, healthcare and talent management solutions and comprises four companies - HCL Infosystems, HCL Technologies, HCL Healthcare and HCL TalentCare. The enterprise generates annual revenues of over US $7 billion with more than 110,000 employees from 100 nationalities operating across 31 countries, including over 500 points of presence in India. For further information, visit www.hcl.com.